Skip to main content

November 2022 Diocesan Council Update

By December 5, 2022No Comments

Submitted by: Leo F.J. Wilking, Chancellor

The Diocesan Council met at Grace Church in Jamestown on November 18-19. It welcomed the following new members who were elected by region, became members by virtue of their election to the Standing Committee, or were appointed by Bishop Tom Ely: Rev. Hal Weidman, Dr. John Baird, Elaine McLaughlin, and Rev. Robert Hoekstra.

In addition to getting an update on financial matters from Treasurer Charlotte Peterson, and receiving reports from the Bishop, Diocesan Minister, Northwest Coordinator and Diocesan Administrator, the Diocesan Council reviewed reports from multiple committees including the New Seasons of Ministry Task Force, the Reconciliation Committee, and the North Dakota Episcopal Foundation.

The Diocesan Council also approved an important revision of the “Our Fair Share” program, as proposed by the OFS Task Force. The program is now named “Diocesan Stewardship Share.” Operating revenues are defined as “all funds available for operations,” and include in-kind donations used for operating purposes. The percentage of operating revenues to be paid by each congregation to the Diocese on an annual basis is set by Convention with the adoption of the Diocesan Budget, but it is the recommendation of the OFS Task Force that the percentage be reduced by 1% per year until it reaches 15%.

The next two meetings of Diocesan Council will be by Zoom on January 17 and February 28, 2023. The next in-person meeting is tentatively scheduled to take place in Minot on April 21-22, 2023.

Leave a Reply